Faculty Directory

Contributing Departments & Research Institutes

Department of Cell & Molecular BiologyUniversity of Hawaii Cancer Center (UHCC)Institute for Biogenesis Research
Neuroscience SpecializationDepartment of MedicineDepartment of Pediatrics
Center for Cardiovascular ResearchDepartment of Tropical Medicine, Medical Microbiology, and Pharmacology Department of Anatomy, Biochemistry & Physiology
Department of Human Nutrition, Food and Animal SciencesDepartment of ChemistryDepartment of Native Hawaiian Health
Pacific Biosciences Research Center (PBRC)Hawaii Institute of Marine BiologyJABSOM Dean's Office

Faculty Directory

Graduate FacultyResearch InterestsDepartmentE-MailAffiliate
Allsopp, RichardReproductive biologyAnatomy, Biochem., Physiology & Repro. Biol.allsopp@hawaii.edu
Bellinger, FrederickNeurobiology of selenoproteinsCell & Molecular Biologyfb@hawaii.edu
Berry, MarlaMetabolic and neurological diseases/disordersPacific Biosciences Research Centermberry@hawaii.edux
Boisvert, WilliamAtherosclerosisMedicinewab@hawaii.edu
Bowen, BrianConservation GeneticsHawaii Institute of Marine Biologybbowen@hawaii.edu
Deng, YoupingBioinformatics, biomedical informatics, computational biology, data science, cancer, genomics, systems biologyQuantitative Health Sciencesdengy@hawaii.edu
Fei, PeiwenTumor suppressors functionCancer Center Hawaiipfei@cc.hawaii.edu
Fleig, AndreaCell signalingCancer Center Hawaiiafleig@hawaii.edu
Fogelgren, BenjaminRenal physiology developmentAnatomy, Biochem., Physiology & Repro. Biol.fogelgre@hawaii.edu
Gerschenson, MarianaMitochondria/metabolic diseasesCell & Molecular Biologygerschen@hawaii.edu
Haymer, DavidMolecular genetics of Dipterads/ForensicsCell & Molecular Biologydhaymer@hawaii.edu
Hoffmann, PeterSelenoproteins/immunologyCell & Molecular Biologypeterh@pbrc.hawaii.edu
James, NicholasNeurodegeneration/metabolic diseasesCell & Molecular Biologynjames4@hawaii.edu
Jameson, DavidBiochemistry/protein interactionsCell & Molecular Biologydjameson@hawaii.edu
Le Marchand, LoicCancer epidemiologyCancer Center Hawaiiloic@cc.hawaii.edu
Le Saux, OlivierAbnormal calcificationCell & Molecular Biologylesaux@hawaii.edu
Lozanoff, ScottDevelopmental biology/craniofacialAnatomy, Biochem., Physiology & Repro. Biol.lozanoff@hawaii.edu
Marikawa, Yusuke
Molecular control of body planAnatomy, Biochem., Physiology & Repro. Biol.marikawa@hawaii.edu
Matsui, Takashi
Cardiovascular diseaseAnatomy, Biochem., Physiology & Repro. Biol.tmatsui@hawaii.edu
Maunakea, Alika
Epigenomics/systems biology/transcriptional regulationNative Hawaiian Healthamaunake@hawaii.edu
Moisyadi, StefanMammalian transgenesisAnatomy, Biochem., Physiology & Repro. Biol.moisyadi@hawaii.edu
Nerurkar, VivekViral pathogens/ epidemiologyTrop. Medicine, Medical Microbiology & Pharm.nerurkar@hawaii.edu
Ng, Ho LeungMembrane protein crystallographyChemistryhng@hawaii.eduX
Nichols, Robert
NeurobiologyCell & Molecular Biologyrobert.nichols@hawaii.edu
Panee, JunNatural products/antioxidantsCancer Center Hawaiijunchen@hawaii.edu
Penner, Reinhold
Calcium signalingCancer Center Hawaiirpenner@hawaii.edu
Pitts, MatthewNeurobiology/metabolismCell & Molecular Biologymwpitts@hawaii.edux
Polgar, NoemiMolecular interactions of the extracellular matrix in health and disease; risk factors and pathomechanisms of Type 2 diabetes.Anatomy, Biochem., Physiology & Repro. Biol.polgar@hawaii.edu
Presting, GernotEnzymology, genome biology and virologyMolecular Biosciences and Bioengineeringgernot@hawaii.edu
Seale, AndreComparative endocrinologyHuman Nutritian, Food & Animal Scienceseale@hawaii.edu
Seale, LuciaSelenium, nutrition, adipocyte, redox, thermogenesis, energy metabolism, obesity, omicsPacific Biosciences Research Centerlseale@hawaii.edux
Shohet, Ralph
Cardiovascular researchMedicineshohet@hawaii.edu
Stokes, AlexanderCardiac immunologyCell & Molecular Biologyastokes@hawaii.edux
Tallquist, MichelleHuman birth defects and diseaseMedicinemichelle.tallquist@hawaii.edu
Todorovic, CedomirNeurobiologyCell & Molecular Biologycedomir@hawaii.edux
Turner, HelenInflammation and mast cell biologyChaminade Universityhturner@chaminade.edux
Tuthill, Matthew
Synthetic biology/molecular diagnostics/immunotherapyKapiolani Community Collegemtuthill@hawaii.edux
Urschitz, Johann
Placental function/metabolic diseaseAnatomy, Biochem., Physiology & Repro. Biol.johann@hawaii.edu
Ward, MonikaBiology of reproductionAnatomy, Biochem., Physiology & Repro. Biol.mward@hawaii.edu
Ward, SteveTertiary structure of DNAAnatomy, Biochem., Physiology & Repro. Biol.wward@hawaii.edu
Yamazaki, YukikoGerm cell biology/embryology/artificial reproductionAnatomy, Biochem., Physiology & Repro. Biol.yyamazak@hawaii.edux
Yanagihara, AngelBiochemistry of neurotoxinsPacific Biosciences Research Centerayanagih@hawaii.edux
Yang, HainingPathogenesis of mesothelioma, a malignancy often related to asbestos exposure. Find novel strategies for mesothelioma early detection, prevention and therapy.Cancer Center Hawaiihaining@hawaii.edu
Yew, Joan
Neurobiology of taste & olfactory perceptionPacific Biosciences Research Centerjyew@hawaii.edux
Zhang, YiqiangCardiovascular research/heart disease/stem cell biology/regenerative medicine/functional genomics/translational cardiac biologyAnatomy, Biochem., Physiology & Repro. Biol.yiquiang.zhang@hawaii.edu

 

Cell & Molecular Biology Graduate Program
John A. Burns School of Medicine, Biosciences Building, Suite 222-4 
651 Ilalo St., Honolulu, HI 96813
ph: 808 692-1514 fax: 808 691-1970